Millard Fillmore

13th President Millard Fillmore, 1850-185313th President Millard Fillmore, 1850-185313th President Millard Fillmore, 1850-185313th President Millard Fillmore, 1850-185313th President Millard Fillmore, 1850-185313th President Millard Fillmore, 1850-1853

13th President Millard Fillmore, 1850-1853

13th President of the United States
(July 9, 1850 to March 3, 1853)

Full Name: Millard Fillmore
Nickname: "The American Louis Philippe"

Born: January 7, 1800, in Locke Township (now Summerhill), New York
Died: March 8, 1874 in Buffalo, New York

Father: Nathaniel Fillmore (1771-1863)
Mother: Phoebe Millard Fillmore (1781-1831)
Stepmother: Eunice Smith Bassett Love Fillmore (1779-1866)
Married: Abigail Powers (1798-1853), on February 5, 1826; Caroline Carmichael McIntosh (1813-1881), on February 10, 1858
Children: Millard Powers Fillmore (1828-89); Mary Abigail Fillmore (1832-54)

Religion: Unitarian
Education: No formal education
Occupation: Lawyer
Political Party: Whig
Other Government Positions:

  • Member of New York State Assembly, 1828-31
  • Member of U.S. House of Representatives, 1833-35
  • Member of U.S. House of Representatives, 1837-45
  • Comptroller of New York, 1847
  • Vice President, 1849-1850 (under Taylor)

Presidential Salary: $25,000/year

Presidential Election Results:

YearCandidatePopular VotesElectoral Votes
1856James Buchanan1,832,955174
(map)John C. Fremont1,339,932114
Millard Fillmore871,7318

Vice President: None


Secretary of State
John M. Clayton (1850)
Daniel Webster (1850-52)
Edward Everett (1852-53)
Secretary of the Treasury
William M. Meredith (1850)
Thomas Corwin (1850-53)
Secretary of War
George W. Crawford (1850)
Charles M. Conrad (1850-53)
Attorney General
Reverdy Johnson (1850)
John J. Crittenden (1850-53)
Postmaster General
Jacob Collamer (1850)
Nathan K. Hall (1850-52)
Samuel D. Hubbard (1852-53)
Secretary of the Navy
William B. Preston (1850)
William A. Graham (1850-52)
John P. Kennedy (1852-53)
Secretary of the Interior
Thomas Ewing (1850)
Thomas M. T. McKennan (1850)
Alexander H. H. Stuart (1850-53)

Supreme Court Justices:
Benjamin Robbins Curtis (1851-1857)

Notable Events:
Internet Biographies:
Millard Fillmore -- from The Presidents of the United States of America
Compiled by the White House.
Millard Fillmore -- from The American President
From the Miller Center of Public Affairs at the University of Virginia, in addition to information on the Presidents themselves, they have first lady and cabinet member biographies, listings of presidential staff and advisers, and timelines detailing significant events in the lives of each administration.
Millard Fillmore -- from Encyclopaedia Britannica
Facts about Fillmore and his presidency.
Historical Documents:
Millard Fillmore Digital Collections - from the Library of Congress


Other Internet Resources:
The Best Biographies of Millard Fillmore
In 2012, Stephen Floyd started his search for the best biography of each president. He usually has reviews of multiple biographies for each president.
Health and Medical History of Millard Fillmore
Medical background of each president with references. Compiled by John Sotos, MD.
Millard Fillmore Presidential Site
The Aurora Historical Society provides house tours. The only house built by a president.
Points of Interest:

1686 NY-38, Moravia, NY 13118

1411 Delaware Avenue, Buffalo, New York

24 Shearer Avenue, East Aurora, New York

Additional Facts:
  • After Fillmore's term, he became the chancellor of the University of Buffalo.
  • Fillmore was the first president to have a stepmother.
  • Fillmore was the first president to have a father live through his entire presidential term.
  • Fillmore was the first president to remarry after leaving office.
  • The White House's first library, bathtub and kitchen stove were installed by the Fillmores.
  • Fillmore refused an honorary degree from Oxford University because he felt he had "neither literary nor scientific attainment."

“An honorable defeat is better than a dishonorable victory.”

Previous President: Zachary Taylor
Next President: Franklin Pierce